13 April 2011

Sacral Chakra

Photo from: Purengery Vibrational Healing
The second chakra, called Svadisthana or Swadhisthana in Sanskrit, is also known as the "sacral chakra" because of it's location in the sacrum, the large triangle-shaped bone at the base of the spine and upper back part of the pelvis. It is symbolized by an orange lotus with six petals and governs the sexual organs, the kidneys, the liver, and adrenal glands. It helps inspire our creativity and gives us the strength to see our relationships clearly.

When the sacral chakra is balanced and open, we feel creative and mentally "awake." It gives us a drive to achieve what we want in live and helps us let go of objects, ideas, and relationships that are detrimental to our well-being. In those relationships we do keep, the sacral chakra helps us keep them balanced and equal. Given it's dominance over the reproductive organs, a balanced sacral chakra can also lead to more fulfilling sex. When the sacral chakra is blocked, however, we can suffer physically from stomach pains and sexual diseases. Emotionally, a blocked sacral chakra can lead to either breakdowns and frequent, overly dramatic outbursts or a sense of listlessness and apathy.

If you want to work to balance your sacral chakra,  try wearing orange or lighting candles that have lavender and sage scents. If you think your chakra needs to be opened further, try bolder scents like ylang-ylang, grapefruit, or patchouli (one of my favorites). Use carnelian gems to garner emotional health and balance. With this chakra, the key is to learn to love yourself in order to build your relationships with others and gain a sense of confidence that is neither inflated or malnourished. 

Some key mantras to repeat are: 

  • "I am creative and bold."
  • "I love and approve of myself and my actions."
  • "I only need what is inside of me."
  • "I trust that life will work out."


No comments: